White People and me

I went for a walk today and saw a White couple with their kids.

My internal experience reminded me of a passage from the Brothers K.

“It’s just the same story as a doctor once told me,” observed the elder. “He was a man getting on in years, and undoubtedly clever. He spoke as frankly as you, though in jest, in bitter jest. ‘I love humanity,’ he said, ‘but I wonder at myself. The more I love humanity in general, the less I love man in particular. In my dreams,’ he said, ‘I have often come to making enthusiastic schemes for the service of humanity, and perhaps I might actually have faced crucifixion if it had been suddenly necessary; and yet I am incapable of living in the same room with anyone for two days together, as I know by experience. As soon as anyone is near me, his personality disturbs my self-complacency and restricts my freedom. In twenty-four hours I begin to hate the best of men: one because he’s too long over his dinner; another because he has a cold and keeps on blowing his nose. I become hostile to people the moment they come close to me. But it has always happened that the more I detest men individually the more ardent becomes my love for humanity.
(Part I. Book II: An Unfortunate GatheringChapter 4: A Lady of Little Faith

I doesn’t help that White people, in particular, hate me for defending them in general. Remind me to wake up Black or whatever else.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to White People and me

  1. Kiwiguy says:

    A t-shirt for you đŸ™‚ Paul Johnson’s book ‘Intellectuals’ shows this attitude isn’t that uncommon amongst some major left wing academics.

    http://www.zazzle.co.nz/i_love_humanity_but_i_hate_people_tshirt-235100821193261695

    I don’t think they hate you for defending them, but for offending their sacred beliefs.

  2. Reactionary_Konkvistador says:

    Just so you know lots of people appreciate your effort. Though they are indeed a self-selected bunch. Becoming HBD aware was what Robin Hanson calls a viewquake for me.

    I empathize with your feelings on this matter. Its so easy to hate blindness and wilful stupidity. But I try to remember… its not White people’s fault they are wired the way they are wired and live in the age they do. Its a challenge set up by the universe and getting upset at Whites being self destroying is about as reasonable as being mad at steel giving way when stressed in certain predictable conditions.

  3. icr says:

    This blog has a lot of good stuff on the nature of mass man in contemporary America:
    http://www.amerika.org/

    Understanding and forgiveness and all that.

Leave a Reply

